PDA

View Full Version : Transgender SDSU student to be honored for outstanding academic record

MarieDelta
May 1, 2010, 2:50 PM
Transgender San Diego State University (SDSU) student, Jessica Compton, will graduate in May as the first Transgender student to receive the honor of Outstanding Baccalaureate Candidate of the Computer Science Department – and is graduating Summa Cum Laude.

“I will be first in line of all the undergraduates to get my diploma,” Compton said. Professors in the Department of Computer Science voted to award Compton with the honor in recognition of her excellent academic record.

“One professor told me they voted for me because I was a reliable student and high in character,” Compton said.

Compton’s professors beamed about Compton’s skill, talent and accomplishments.

“Graduating at the top of one’s class is an extraordinary accomplishment and given the challenges she faced, it is even more remarkable,” SDSU Professor Alan Riggins said. “I am proud to have been her advisor and I believe that Jessica is a wonderful role model for GLBT youth.”

Computer Science Professor Ivan Bajic said Compton was a remarkable student during her time in Bajic’s Introduction to Robotics class.

“She really set herself a part as one of SDSU’s top students,” Bajic said. “She would get 100 percent on exams and projects and would complete the projects long in advance.” “The projects difficult and required microchip firmware programming and electrical wiring,” he added.

Compton, a 27-year-old MTF transgender woman, is originally from Texas and was born into a Navy family. While at the University of Houston, Compton’s father and stepmother learned of her transgender status and refused to financially support her, forcing Compton to drop out.

“They thought I was going to, if I continued down the path I chose, become depressed and commit suicide like so many other people they knew,” Compton said, noting her biological mother is very supportive.