PDA

View Full Version : A "commercial" of sorts--forgive me!

12voltman59
Nov 24, 2009, 7:09 PM
:bigrin:As I have told some of you---the kind of music I like to listen too falls in the genre of "Americana."

It is sorta hard to accurately define what kind of music that makes up this genre because it is sort of a catch all, grab bag, gumbo stew sort of genre.

Americana music can be a bit of rock and roll--various forms of rock to boot, alternate, sorta pop, blues, bluegrass, bluegrass gospel, folk, and country.

The form is also often called "traditional" or "roots music."

In the past year--I discovered (kinda late to the party since the station just celebrated its 12th anniversary) a great commercial free, listener supported FM radio station called WDVX out of Knoxville, Tennessee. I have been driving through Knoxville since the mid-1970s, but for some reason in recent years had not even tried to find any interesting local stations while driving through---thats in part to having XM radio going or having CDs playing with the advent of those forms of music delivery.

On my trip down to Florida last year during the holidays, for some reason--I had been tuning into radio stations along the drive south--when I got into the Knoxville region--I found the station and was so happy that they streamed their broadcasting.

I got down to my folks in Florida, got online and found the WDVX website to stream the station--since that time--I have been streaming that station pretty much all the time since--it's on now as I type this post.

The point of my posting is that if you like music that is more along the lines of alt rock, blues, bluegrass, alt country, folk and other similar forms of music-then I just suggest that you try streaming WDVX for awhile. I really think you will like this station. But of course--if you don't like this sort of music--then don't bother.

The link is www.wdvx.com