PDA

View Full Version : reaction to young bisexuals

xochristineox
Mar 13, 2008, 2:37 AM
I truly do appreciate the new openess towards bisexuals in the media.
However, I am often frustrated by the reactions I recieve after talking about my sexuality. I am still a student and I have a sexual nature. This does not mean that I only wish to experiment or gain attention. Just because I am a young woman who naturally attracts people, does not mean that I just want to get attention.
I find that because the media has made "girl on girl action" a major turn on, people assume that I only seek women in order to have men be attrcted to me.
I love women just as much as I love men, and I am equally attracted to both genders. How can I show friends and possible love interests (both bis and lesbians) that I am sincere in my orientation?

soulseeker
Mar 13, 2008, 3:22 AM
An interesting conundrum and one which all true bisexuals encounter...not straight enough, and not gay enough...at least that's what I experience as a male...it is probably quite different for a female given, as you say, that there is a kind of fashion attached to FF which makes it acceptable and even desirable for straight people, and as you say, then makes it difficult to express your honesty in regard to your sexuality...whew! a run on sentence if there ever was one...but to carry on...I see sexuality as being degraded by labelling...defintely in favour of the "sexual continuum" which makes the labels insignificant.

kitten
Mar 13, 2008, 5:44 AM
Be sincere and don't settle for less than you desire. It may take time but is worth the wait. For those that do not understand or accept, that is not your problem or responsibility to make them get it.
Stay true to yourself!

Hugs,

Bluebiyou
Mar 13, 2008, 11:08 AM
I love women just as much as I love men, and I am equally attracted to both genders. How can I show friends and possible love interests (both bis and lesbians) that I am sincere in my orientation?
You can't.