PDA

View Full Version : Out On The Job?

biblaqman
Nov 9, 2007, 5:15 AM
First things first. I've been comfortable with my Bisexuality for over 20 yrs now. I am from a large black family (5th of 10 kids) and I have come out to a few siblings. I'm sure word has spread to the others. I was raised in the south and was told by my perennially victimized mother that I was a "Christian" while growing up. I never knew what that meant since our childhood was mired by physical and mental abuse. (that's another topic altogether)

Before I had my first homosexual experience, in my early 20's, female friends used to tell me that they like me because I was not afraid to show my feminine side. Naive me never knew what they meant. I was just me being me. I've always had this tough guy persona soley based on my appearance. Looks are definitely deceiving. Once people got to know me, they realized I was not some big dumb brute.

My physical appearance comes in handy on my job. I am a Corrections Officer. Although it is racially diverse in my dept.the stereotypes still exist. We have plenty of openly Gay CO's in my dept. No openly Bisexual CO's that I know of.

I am closeted on the job. The thing is, I've never really felt a need to come out to my co-workers. Not that I am afraid of being rejected. My job is not my life. Meaning, I don't need to bring my personal life to the job. The closest I've come to discussing my sexual preference was when a supervisor said that she heard a rumor about me. I didn't follow up on it. My attitude was let them believe what they want to believe. I did dodge the question another time when I had lunch with a co-worker.