PDA

View Full Version : What is a pap smear?

spoiledangel860505
Mar 15, 2007, 12:02 AM
Anyone that has had one can you enlighten me on what it is exactly? A good website or explaination will help. Does it hurt? what do they do? I'm going in for one in the next few weeks and I had one when I was 11, and I don't remember what the doctor did, so please help.

spoiledangel

12voltman59
Mar 15, 2007, 12:10 AM
My advice would be to check out WebMd.com

onewhocares
Mar 15, 2007, 12:24 AM
Well, I am not a health professional by any means, but a pap smear should be a yearly exam for all women. It is usually done at your annual gynocological visit. You lie on the exam table and put your feet up in these stirups (to hold your legs). The doctor, nurse or NP will insert this device called a speculum which can be made of metal or plastic into your vagina. If you have a considerate doctor, they have them warm. The also use a lubricant so it will slide in easily. The speculum will hold the walls of the vagina open so that the doctor and insert a long swab and take a specimin of the cervix.

The sample is then sent to a lab where they can detect many different diseases. How do I know all this...well first I am very conscious of making sure I have yearly exams and I never wait if I have a problem. Well imagine my surprise when I got a call after my annual exam in September that my pap smear came out postive for HPV. It is a rampant disease which if left untreated can be a major factor in cervical cancer. Well to make a long story short, I did have a biospy which turned out to be postive and had additional surgury done to see if it was cancer. Well, I was one of the lucky ones, I do not have it. But will now have to have a pap smear every three months. As a matter of fact my first one is next Wednesday.