PDA

View Full Version : Sexual Assault Suvivors

Celtiff2106
Dec 22, 2006, 6:30 PM
This was kind of inspired by a couple of things that have come up lately, but especially a previouse thread (thank you for that longduckdong!) But I digress...
As a psych student I discoverd a decent amount of evidence that there is a coorelation between being a sexual abuse survivor and being LGBT. I myself am a survivor of some horrific events including a long term sexual abuse at the hands of my biological father.
I was wondering, if you would be willing to share, how many on this particular site are survivors of sexual abuse/ assault of some kind. And know that I DO understand if you are uncomfortable sharing. And to all feel free to message me privately if you just need an ear. I will always listen.

mistymockingbird
Dec 22, 2006, 8:07 PM
For the sake of research.... ;)

I was sexually abused for 10 years by my ex husband. We were together 11 years total. He was verbally abusive as well. I'll spare you the details, if you want to know you can ask privately. I don't mind talking about it, but I don't feel the need to broadcast all the dirt unsolicited. It's in the past.

I was not fully aware of my sexuality until after we were married, but I feel I have been bi all of my life, just didn't always have a name or a label for it. He was not supportive of my sexuality (or just about anything concerning me, but that discussion could go on for days). I'm grateful everyday that I found the courage to walk out of that situation before it was too late.

CountryLover
Dec 22, 2006, 8:41 PM
I was emotionally/verbally abused for over 15 years in my first marriage. Thank God for my guys, my bi married guys who saw the abuse, nagged and browbeat and coaxed me until I got into counseling, and then supported me after I got rid of the jerk. I was suicidal when I met my guys and they pulled me back from the brink.