PDA

View Full Version : Oral sex and HIV http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/resources/qa/qa19.htm

PolyLoveTriad
Dec 11, 2006, 8:49 PM
I just had a deiscussion with someone from this site, (no names being named) But this person had no idea at all that you could possibly get HIV from oral sex. Although the chances are about half of getting it through oral sex rather than anal or vaginal, is that really a chance you want to take? I used to be a Lab Administrator and knew about the risk, so I gave this person the link to the cdc about oral sex and HIV> I wanted to give it to all of you as well. I urge everyone to go to the link and read up on it. Its your life and someone elses life at stake isnt it? http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/resources/qa/qa19.htm

Anyway, I hope everyone gets themselves checked out every 6 months or so and practices safe sex... Happy hunting!

http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/resources/qa/qa19.htm

LoveLion
Dec 11, 2006, 11:55 PM
Its really suprising how many people dont know things like that. I figure its because Sex ed was never taught very well in schools until recently.
I had sex ed about 3 years ago and we learned all about STDs and safe sex and Im glad its was taught to us (Although I could have done without the STD slide show. Seeing a 2 meter tall image of a genital wart infected penis projected on the wall is not the nicest thing)

DiamondDog
Dec 12, 2006, 12:53 AM
That's very true.
I use condoms for oral sex if I don't know the guy and because I get cuts/sores frequently in my mouth.

I don't use them for reciving oral sex. That's because it's virtually impossible with a healthy dick getting oral sex to get HIV from another person. Actually, I did use one once but that was only because in the area where I was living there was a big syphilis outbreak.

Here are some more helpful links:
http://www.dph.sf.ca.us/sfcityclinic/stdbasics/stdchart.asp

http://www.thebody.com/Forums/AIDS/SafeSex/Current/Q179632.html

http://www.thebody.com