PDA

View Full Version : What do you want from life?

happyjoe68
Oct 29, 2006, 11:09 AM
This isnt a thread on taking "magic pills", "three wishes", or any other type of short cut, but more of what you actively try to get from life, eg power, wealth, escape from poverty, etc.

I'm interested in what people want, but why people also want it, and why people think they need it.

Me? I want to be happy, preferably with someone. The potential loneliness and isolation of later years fills me with dread at times. Despitre being bi, I know that I want a family and would regret it later if I did not

So, over to you ...

JohnnyV
Oct 29, 2006, 11:45 AM
I want to be settled career-wise. I'm a professor and still untenured. It's exhausting to be constantly striving for the next step and always told that you have to keep running and running after the next benchmark. I want to feel like the benchmarks are behind me and I've "arrived." Then I can spend more time with my wife and daughter and think about fun things, maybe get involved in local politics.

meteast chick
Oct 29, 2006, 3:27 PM
All I want from life is Happiness. To me that's not asking much. Yes, I also want to have that beautiful open loving relationship, both with my children and my significant other, but I think that results in happiness.

I guess I'm pretty simple, the more you ask for probably the more you get, but I'd rather hope for one and pray really hard for it!

luv and kisses,
xoxoxoxoxox
meteast

Herbwoman39
Oct 29, 2006, 3:58 PM
Well, I already have the happiness aspect of life.

What *I* want is for us to be the owners of a multi-billion dollar holistic corporation. I want Hands-On AromaTherapy and our new venture that we're just in the planning stages of, Herb's Herbs (Hi, I'm Herb) to be a worldwide holistic health care corporation inside of 5 years.

I believe in the adage "If you're going to dream, dream BIG!".