PDA

View Full Version : Question about creativity and libido

stonebow
Oct 5, 2020, 12:38 AM
Ok so I'm a woodworker by trade but apart from my occupation, most of my pastimes also involve making things, usually out of wood, metal or leather.....and before you ask, yes I have designed and built a couple pieces of B&D gear. Anyway, I've noticed that I'll often have random sexual thoughts as I'm in the middle of a project, especially if it's going well. My wife, an artist, has also exhibited an increased interest in sex whenever she's on a roll with her work.

So here's my question; have any of you other creative types noticed a correlation between your sex drive and your creativity? I read once that Lady Gaga took a vow of celibacy because she felt her creativity was being drained through her vagina whenever she engaged in sex. What I want to know is if there really is a connection between sex and creativity, does it have to be an either/or thing? Can't I have both hot, soul satisfying sex AND the self expression of my craft work as well? I know it's sometimes hard to concentrate on getting work done because all I can think of is getting laid. Once I bust a nut though, I can tackle a project with renewed energy and focus.

I suspect creating and procreating are essentially, the same drive...just finding different outlets. As long as there's a balance between the two, I for one, am a happy guy!

bicuriouslondonguy
Oct 5, 2020, 1:10 AM
I think it's because we're just more sexual creatures when we're happy. We have more energy and it can help when you're releasing natural endorphins :)

Neonaught
Oct 5, 2020, 7:43 AM
I am no artist but my wife is. Unfortunately there is no increase in libido when she works. I wish!!!!

Jazminedress
Oct 5, 2020, 10:45 AM