PDA

View Full Version : So what should I do?

JrzGuy3
Jun 16, 2006, 3:05 AM
I work as a beach teller (I sell beach tickets) in Asbury Park, NJ. For those of you that don't know the area, Asbury Park has a very large gay population (I don't know what the per capita is, but it's way above the national). The other day I leave my ticket trailer and walk to my car. While I'm going past the Stone Pony, I pass two guys with their arms around each other. Just after I pass them, I walk past another guy who looks at them and then says to me with a smirk, "You know being queer is one thing but you don't have to fucking advertise it."

The two guys were probably in earshot but were behind me so I didn't notice a reaction. I felt kinda shitty not telling this guy to fuck off (and loudly enough the two guys could hear), but I was just leaving my job. Now it's a beach job and the atmosphere is extremely casual- when I was a lowly ticket taker two years ago, I had no problem being out to everyone I knew at work. However, now, I've been rehired as the 2nd highest teller position (the woman I work directly with is the head teller, and I'd likely get her job if she left tomorrow)- I'm not really a punk kid with a throwaway job anymore, I'm adecently high ranking employee partially in charge of our books. I'm really hesitant as a town employee of a not-very-large town visibly telling off a local. Even though I was on my own time (I was off and leaving), I was still spitting distance from work and had been gone not even 5 minutes. I didn't say anything but kinda scoffed. So my question is what should I do next time this happens (judging from when I worked here two years ago, this WILL happen again)?

strawberry8302
Jun 16, 2006, 3:37 AM