PDA

View Full Version : Pros and cons of coming out

therevq
Sep 22, 2011, 12:07 AM
Let me say at the outset, this is a question based thread, not my personal view. But first, some background info and a certain amount of explanation is called for.

I am bisexual, not just bicurious or an MSM, known it for ages. I've had sexual and emotional relationships on both sides of the gender spectrum. I'd put myself pretty smack bang in the middle of the Kinsey scale. Took me a while to realise, but that is a standard and boring story, possibly for another time.

For many years I have kept it secret, primarily because of my work. I was a band manager, booking agent and promoter, mostly in the metal scene. In SA, it's a very closed community, everyone knows everyone and all the dirty laundry. It's also highly political and any edge you can obtain against someone else will be used. The lines between personal and professional were highly blurred and during this time, a certain degree of secrecy and subtlety was needed to keep the two distinct and protect my career.

But as I said, I was. I have quit and gone back to the geeky role of web developer for various reasons. Professional and personal are now distinct. My partying and forays out don't happen around clients and colleagues. This has again opened up the possibility of me coming out. I am aware that it isn't an instant thing, it's not a once off, done in 5 seconds. It is a decision to no longer hide it, to reveal ones preference as and when appropriate in a process that will never end.