PDA

View Full Version : A thread about communication

void()
Sep 1, 2011, 6:03 AM
Being a writer I have sometimes been aboard a mailing list for writers. There is often discussion on language, communication on such lists. These being how people convey ideas, emotions, relate. We study this in order to create better characters in our work.

It also translates into better understanding of people in general. For example we learn about verbal self defense and obviously verbal attacking. On the internet, we write and our writing becomes our voices. So, our writing can be verbal.

Below is posted something from a writing list. It is not my work originally. But it is something which can be freely shared. The author of the work studied cognitive psychology and language, communication, relation. They wrote a couple of books on their studies. Titles elude me but suffice it they indeed were renowned professionals and experts on the subject matter.

Why do I post it here? Well, maybe some can learn from it. Hopefully, it can improve communication here and abroad.

Thirteen Ways to Stifle Intimate Conversation

When they're used as in the examples below, their

primary effect - whether their semantic content is

positive or negative - is to bring conversation to an

abrupt _halt._

- UNLESS IT IS YOUR _GOAL_ TO CUT OFF COMMUNICATION
ABRUPTLY, DON'T SAY THINGS THAT MAKE PEOPLE THINK:

"WHAT ON EARTH AM I GOING TO SAY _BACK_?"

1. NAMES AND EPITHETS

You sexist pig!

Airhead!

Creep!

You're a saint!

You genius!

You wonderful, generous person!

*Void Note:

While the last three may appear positive, often they are barbed with sarcasm. Even if not they still halt conversation because the person being exalted is left unable to reply. If they say thank you it opens them up being seen as arrogant. If they say nothing, they again are some arrogant s.o.b, or completely stupid. So, even that which may seem praise can be a weapon to annihilate character.

2. EVALUATIONS