PDA

View Full Version : Baby Steps

hgf33
Aug 17, 2011, 11:01 AM
Went to the doctor yesterday for some stomach issues, and had to fill out all that crappy paperwork.

I checked the "bisexual" box for the first time in my life. Might not seem like a big deal to you, but hey, baby steps!! It was kind-of a big deal to me! :bigrin:

I've never done this before, not even to my gyno, for 2 reasons:
Reason Number One:
I would've felt like an ass for checking it off after always putting "straight". I wasn't always lying to my doctor. It was simply because it had nothing to do with my care. If I was single and sleeping with both, then sure, I would've definitely put "bisexual", but I was totally monogamous with my boyfriend and she knew all about my wonderful relationship. I did, however, keep it from her after my boyfriend let me sleep with a woman. I just didn't have the heart to tell her and ruin the image. Odd for someone who doesn't care what people think, but sometimes I do care. A lot has to do with the demographic of the area. I try to be above the norm, to give those poor doctors a little hope for the city, lol! Buuut really, I just chickened out, plain and simple. I know, I know. Shame on me.

Reason Number Two:
My mom works within the health system. While I understand all the privacy laws, it's sort-of an understanding with her that, if she needs to look something up for me, that it's ok as long as I say it is. And if I say it's not, she's going to ask why.