PDA

View Full Version : Hmmm, exactly what is my title?

denariusamor
Jul 17, 2011, 11:07 PM
I'm new to this thing so I'm just looking for people to talk to about this new world. I was straight til I was 17, then I was strictly with women. now, at 35, I am with a man and a woman. I still consider myself a lesbian, i just think he is my exception. I have no interest in any other man but him. Yes I appreciate an attractive man but I don't want to have sex with them. They have children together and I am considered a parent but we weren't sure what my " title" should be, is it just my name or is it aunt.... i don't really know what to call myself to the kids. (the oldest, who is 6, sometimes calls them both by their names rather than mom or dad.) But I am more than just an aunt; so, I wondered what other families like ours have done.

Long Duck Dong
Jul 17, 2011, 11:31 PM
its who you feel comfortable being called by kids

I call my step father by his name but I tell people he is my step father and somebody I regard as a father....

denariusamor
Jul 17, 2011, 11:36 PM
So should I let the kids decide what they want to call me? Cuz they are at an age where we will probably not have to "come out" to them cuz they are 6 & 4 but they need to know I'm more than a friend to mommy and daddy. And do we sit down and talk to them about it at all?

Long Duck Dong
Jul 17, 2011, 11:46 PM
talking with them is good, but having parental guidelines is also good....

the hard part is the common ground, do you allow the children to call people by their first names, or put in some rules in order to show respect for other people and strangers..... its one of the issues of being a parent and there is no simple answer

I was raised to refer to my parents as mum and dad, my step father by his name or as dad, ( I chose his real first name ) and strangers as mr and mrs / miss..... so it was a mixture