PDA

View Full Version : Bisexuality: Why so complicated

Plumhead2
Dec 7, 2010, 9:58 AM
I am a fairly newbie here, so please excuse my innocent questions.

After reading posts here, I seem to find that bisexuality is very complicated. If you are a bisexual guy, some people say that you should come out to your wife/gf (if you have one). Why? I have a gf (a fiancee, actually). I am committed to her. Now if I do have a sexual attraction to a cock, why should I tell her? I am committed to her and so I feel like I shouldn't act on my attraction to a cock. Isn't it like if you were a heterosexual in a relationship with an skinny woman yet found yourself attracted to overweight women, if you acted out on your attraction it would be called cheating.

Or,

Is it that we are so boxed in by society's norms, that the healthy exercise of our sexuality is thwarted? Should we rebel and work out an arrangement with our significant other and be able to enjoy the variety of sexual pleasures with other people we are attracted to? Should we be able to explore all sides of our sexuality?

Being part of the mainstream seems so easy in comparison. The rules are straightforward (pun intended) and if you violate them, the consequences (if you are caught) are clear. Move away from the mainstream, for instance being a bisexual, and it seems we have to make up our own rules and stumble upon the consequences. Advice here in this forum is incredibly helpful, but there is so much variance in the suggestions. It is almost as if each one of us develops his/her own personal code.

Anyone else unsettled by the complications of bisexual life?

Realist
Dec 7, 2010, 11:05 AM
Personally, I'm not one to give too much advice. You should determine what is best for your particular situation. However, I know the pain caused by cheating.

Ask yourself, "How would she feel if she knew?" or, "How would I feel is I found out she was cheating on me?"