PDA

View Full Version : Ethnicity

Nadir
Nov 11, 2010, 8:13 AM
The other day, while I looked at another thread I started, I saw a guy commenting on that he had nine ethnicities in his background. To be frank, I always have been amazed with the U.S.A. because of this fact. I am a student of Anthropology and Sociology and this nation has always fascinated me as one where different people come together and different cultures and societies finally mix. I have been wondering several things, and I would like to know what ethnicities lie in your heritage (I know that our dear ol´Cat is of German and Native American descent, a strange mix, I would have never imagined it...), how well are you acquainted with them, if you have a pride for all of them or for some of them more than others, and if you want to leave a link or so with more information about them, I would be grateful.

To leave an example, I dunno if you know that the people from my country (Spain), the Spaniards, are divided into several ethnic sub-groups (Catalan people from Catalonia, Basque people, Asturian people and so on...). My parents belong to two different such ethnicities:

My father is Galician (he hails from Northwest Spain): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galician_people

And my mother is Canarian (she is from the Canary Islands, although she also has some French blood in her, or thats what she says):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canarian_people

And what about you? What are your ethnic origins?

DuckiesDarling
Nov 11, 2010, 8:16 AM
On one side I have Scots/Blackfoot Indian and Irish, on the other side Irish/German and more Scots.

tenni
Nov 11, 2010, 9:10 AM
Very interesting Nadir. When I was visiting Spain, I was aware of the regional aspect. My own personal observations about my ethnicity are following.