Here you can find answers to questions about how the board works. Use the links or search box below to find your way around.
If you haven't received the confirmation email then you won't be able to upgrade your account to Confirmed status and access all the features of the site.
To have a new confirmation email sent, enter your email address here. The email is sent immediately and normally arrives in a few minutes.
BUT, FIRST, we recommend you check that you entered your email address correctly when you signed up and change it if needed (it happens often that folks mis-type their email address). You do this by logging in (Yes, even though you are not yet Confirmed you can still log in and access some of the site), and click on the "Control Panel" button (top-right of screen), then click on "Change Email Address or Password".
Another common problem for users is that our Confirmation Email Messages get caught in spam filters (because of the letters s-e-x in our email address/domain). So it also helps greatly if you grant spam exemptions to emails coming from firstname.lastname@example.org and/or look in your spam/junk email folder for the Confirmation Email Message. We will not spam you in any way.
It is also important to note that the link in only the LAST Confirmation Email Message sent will work (new links sent to you disable the previous one).
Yes! To send an email to another member, you can either locate the member you want to contact on the member list, or click the button on any post made by that member.
This will usually open a page that contains a form where you can enter your message. When you have finished typing your message, press the [send email] button and your message will be sent instantly. Note that for privacy reasons, the email address of the recipient is not revealed to you during this process.
Note that if you can not find an email button or link for a member, it means that the member in question has specified that they do not wish to receive email from other members of the forum.
Another useful email function is the ability to send a friend a link to a thread you think they may find interesting. Whenever you view a thread, you will find a link somewhere on the page which will allow you to send a brief message to anyone you like. Your referrerid is added to the link you send, so if your friend registers on this forum as a result of viewing the link you sent to them, your referrals total will automatically be credited!
Registered members may send each other private messages.
Sending Private Messages
Private messages work a little like email, but are limited to registered members of this forum. You may be able to include vB Code, smilies and images in private messages that you send.
You may send a private message to a member of this forum by clicking the 'Send A Private Message' link in the private messaging section of your user control panel, or by clicking the button in a member's posts.
When you send a message, you have the option to save a copy of the message in your Sent Items folder.
Private Message Folders
By default, you will have two folders in your private message area. These are the Inbox and the Sent Items folders.
The Inbox folder contains any new messages you receive, and allows you to view all the messages you have received, along with the name of the person who sent the message to you, and the date and time the message was sent.
The Sent Items folder contains a copy of any messages that you have sent, where you have specified that you wish to keep a copy of the message for future reference.
You may create additional folders for your messages by clicking the 'Edit Folders' link.
Each folder has a set of message controls which allow you to select messages, then either move them to one of your custom folders, or delete them completely. You may also have a button which allows you to forward multiple messages from a folder to another member of the forum.
You will need to periodically delete old messages, as the administrator has probably set a limit to the number of private messages you can have in your folders. If you exceed the number of messages specified by the administrator, you will not be able to send or receive new messages until you delete some old messages.
Whenever you read a message, you will have the option to reply to the message, or forward that message to another member of the forum. You may also have the ability to forward that message to multiple members of your buddy list.
When you send a new private message, you may have the option to request a read-receipt for that message. This will allow you to check whether or not a message has been read by its recipient by viewing the Private Message Tracking page.
This page is divided into two sections: unread messages and read messages.
The unread messages section shows all messages that you have sent with a read-receipt request, that have not yet been read by their recipient. The time of the last activity of the message recipient is also shown. Messages in this section can be cancelled if you decide that their contents are no longer relevant, or for any other reason. Cancelled messages can also be restored to active status if the administrator has enabled this feature.
The read messages section shows all messages you have sent with a receipt request that have been read and acknowledged by their recipient. The time that the message was read is also shown.
You may choose to end the tracking on any message you choose by selecting the message and clicking the [end tracking] button.
When you receive a message with a read-receipt request, you may have the option to read the message while denying the read-receipt request. To do this, simply click the 'deny receipt' link rather than the title of the message, if it appears.
Normally there is no reason for an account to be deleted; this site is not a mailing list. If you wish not to participate on the site anymore then you simply stop visiting. So for this reason, and the fact that deleting accounts causes database inefficiencies, we normally do not delete accounts.
But, we do allow you a simple way to make your account "dormant" with just one click. Doing this does the following:
You can also simply let your Personal Ad be automatically be disabled 60 days after your last activity on the site. But note that that will not change your contact/email options.
If you have a compelling reason for me to completely delete your account then you can email me at the Contact Us link on the bottom of each page. But please be considerate of my time, the fact that this site is free, and the fact that the software is really not designed for me to easily delete accounts, because it is normally not necessary. It is a passive forums/chat site - if you don't want to be part of it, you simply stop visiting.
Message icons allow you to specify a small icon to accompany your posting, which is used to convey the emotion or content of a post at a glance.
If you have registered, you will be able to edit and delete your posts for up to 60 minutes after it has been posted.
To edit or delete your posts, click the button by the post you want to edit. If your post was the first in the thread, then deleting the post may result in the removal of the entire thread.
After you have made your modifications, a note may appear, which notifies other users that you have edited your post. Administrators and moderators may also edit your messages but this note may not appear when they do so.
You may plug your favourite websites and/or services that you provide in your signature, but you must be tasteful and discreet. Signatures that are obvious spam will be deleted or modified.